COMIC-CON 2024

Ominous storm clouds slowly gathered in the distance. Undeterred, superheroes/supervillains, Jedi along with other anime/manga and game characters from across the multiverse, met for this year’s Comic Con.

Once again I set out to try and get the Fire Angel Universe noticed by wearing one of my Fire Angel Universe shirts, but in a crowd that size I quickly realized for anything like that to be noticed was damn near impossible. Still, like last year, it was once again a pleasant outing. Arriving at the destination wasn’t as challenging as last year, as we knew what we were looking for this time and where to park.

Like last year, I had a plan on what comics I was wanting to buy, namely X-Men, since as I explained in last year’s Comic-Con blog, finding X-Men Comics in all my years of comic collecting, has been like looking for a needle in a haystack. I was also on the hunt for some Batman issues, as I haven’t been able to buy any in the past couple of years.

This year however, was different as a lot of the comics were pretty expensive, with one shop even selling their individual comics at the same price as their trade-paperbacks. ABSURD! While I was able to find some X-Men Comics, Marvel Comics’ latest habit of relaunching all their series every few months, left me confused on what was and wasn’t canon. As a result of that, there were quite a few X-Men issues that I could’ve bought but didn’t. Then there were some that I wanted to buy, such as the wedding issue of Colossus and Shadowcat, along with the final issue of The Phoenix Saga but they were too pricey. Same can be said for all the Batman issues that I found which I didn’t have…

After buying from and browsing the comics stalls, it was time for lunch. By now the storm clouds had gathered and the rain had fallen. This left the outdoor benches soaked, so it was quite a challenge to find a place where we could sit and share our pizza, after wiping down one of the benches. While we sat it continued to drizzle on and off.

Shortly after lunch, it was time for the panel I wanted to watch with the former Editor In Chief and co-publisher of DC Comics, Dan Didio. It was an interesting conversation, though a part of me had been hoping for stories of his time working at DC and about some of the storylines which he’d been involved in creating. Once the panel was done, it was time to leave. Getting back home actually turned out to be faster than getting there, due to less traffic.

Again, while it didn’t turn out quite as I’d hoped, it was still a pleasant day.

2 thoughts on “COMIC-CON 2024

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started